John Carson and Dan Durben

With the retirement of three long-time Board members, the Civilian Marksmanship Program (CMP) is pleased to announce the addition of two new members in 2022.

John Carson:

John Carson will serve as chair of the Compensation Committee. He is a former Chairman and Vice Chairman of Raymond James Financial, having left office in 2022. He was also part of the firm’s Executive Committee and was head of the Fixed Income, Public Finance, Corporate Development and Strategic Accounts divisions. Prior to Raymond James, he was a CEO of Morgan Keegan & Company, an organization he joined in 1994. His career began at Chase Manhattan Bank in New York and in Caracas, Venezuela, where he focused on correspondent banking and currency arbitrage.

Carson has a Bachelor of Arts from Dartmouth College, with a double major in International Economics and History, and an MBA from Harvard Business School. In his private life, Carson is married with four children.

Dan Durben:

Dan Durben will serve as chair of the CMP Scholarship Committee. Durben has firsthand experience with small bore rifles, air rifles, high power and biathlon over a career spanning over 40 years. As the coach of USA Shooting, he led teams to the Sydney 2000 and Tokyo 2021 Olympic Games and the Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 Paralympics, with his athletes winning two gold and two silver medals in total. Durben’s own accolades as an athlete include National Champion (Small Bore Air Rifle), World Champion (Air Rifle) and Olympic (Small Bore), representing the USA at the 1988 Seoul Olympics. .

He retired as the USA Shooting Coach in 2021. He also recently completed his career as a physics professor at Black Hills State University with over 50 research publications and conference presentations. Additionally, he was the school’s faculty track representative for over a decade. Dan is best known in the CMP community as the director of CMP’s 3-position air rifle summer camp program for 15 years and played an instrumental role in developing a generation of young rifle shooters across the country.

The CMP Board:

In addition to these new members, returning CMP Board members include: Jerry O’Keefe (Chair), Carmen Allegra (Vice Chair), Gary Cheek (Treasurer), Launi Meili (Secretary), Will Dantzler, Ed Newell, and Regina Chavis. Learn more about all CMP Board members at

The Civilian Marksmanship Program is a federally chartered 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation. It is dedicated to firearms safety and marksmanship training and the promotion of marksmanship competition for United States citizens. To learn more about the CMP and its programs, log on to