Bohl wins the 2022 Smallbore Silhouette Invitational

Mitchell’s Laney Bohl hit 35 of 40 goals to win the Nebraska Youth Smallbore Silhouette Invitational on September 24 at Pressey Wildlife Management Area south of Broken Bow.

Gering’s High Boy Austin Rahmig scored 34 goals, as did Seward’s Braden Hiser, before winning a playoff. Lilian DeWitt from Minatare was High Girl with a 33.

Bohl, Rahmig, DeWitt and Danika Bohl, the 2021 overall champion and Laney’s older sister, shot a combined 134 of 160 for Western Nebraska Shooting Sports to earn the team’s highest overall score. Western Nebraska Shooting Sports has won four consecutive overall team titles.

The annual event, which was established in 1977, is open to all Hunter Education graduates who are at least 11 years old and have not graduated from high school.

“As organizers, we appreciate the attention to detail and the safe handling of firearms,” ​​said match director Matthew Haumont. “This is a testament to the education and skills learned through Nebraska Hunter Education courses administered by the Nebraska Game and Park Commission and taught by volunteer instructors throughout our great state.”

Haumont said several cases of sportsmanship, integrity and mentorship were on display. “Those are attributes that should be celebrated,” she said.

The 64 competitors fired 40 rounds of .22-caliber ammunition from a bare-knuckle rifle at steel-silhouette targets 43, 66, 84 and 109 yards away.

the 47the The annual Smallbore Invitational is scheduled for September 30, 2023.

The results are:

individual awards

State Champion: Laney Bohl, Mitchell, 35 of 40

High Boy – 1. Austin Rahmig, Gering, 34; 2. Braden Hiser, Seward, 34; 3. Glendy Beret, Broken Bow, 31

Tall girl: 1. Lilian DeWitt, Minatare, 33; 2. Danika Bohl, Mitchell, 32; 3. Laura Borgelt, Wisner, 31

Class B: 1. Andrew Enns, Holmesville, 30; 2. Dylan Frye, Hyannis, 29; 3. Sara Thomsen, Pierce, 28

Senior Division – 1. Kyle Rote, Lisco, 28; 2. Nathan Kaup, West Point, 28; 3. Seth Jacobs, Gering, 27

Unranked: 1. Jaxson Orozco, Scottsbluff, 28; 2. Konnar Jones, Pierce, 24; 3. Ethan Engelmeyer, West Point, 22

Heavy range: 1. Ryan Rempel, Beatrice, 27; 2.Isaac Enns, Holmesville, 26; 3. Michael Roschewski, Beatrice, 23

Junior Division – 1. Brandon Thomsen, Pierce, 27; Kaden Grams, Superior, 19; 3. Makenzie Carmin, Doniphan, age 18

Light Reach: 1. Seth Oltmans, Beatrice, 23; 2. Evan Kinnison, Kearney, 20; 3. Tripp Meier, West Point, 19

Beginner Light Reach: 1. Caleb Mohrmann, Genoa, 15

Best Rookie Shooter: Nathan Stokes, Lawrence, 19

Light iron: 1. Emma Loxterkamp, ​​Beatrice, 12; 2. Wyatt Anderson, Amherst, 11; 3. Khalon Newton, North Platte, 10

Heavy Iron – 1. Taylor Kinnison, Kearney, 11

team awards

High Overall: No. 1 Shooting Sports in Western Nebraska (Austin Rahmig, Danika Bohl, Laney Bohl, Lilian DeWitt), 134 of 160

4-H teams: 1. Homestead 4-H No. 1 (Andrew Enns, Isaac Enns, Michael Rochewski, Seth Oltmans), 102; 2. Cuming County Snipers #1 (Isaac Wooldrik, Laura Borgelt, Nathan Kaup, Tripp Meier), 98; 3. Western Nebraska Shooting Sports No. 2, (Justin Missel, Seth Jacobs, Jaxson Orozco, Austin Wiedman), 87

Open teams: 1. East Side Misfits (Braden Hiser, Brandon Thomsen, Sara Thomsen, Konnar Jones), 113; 2. Open No. 1 (Bereket Glendy, Ryker Staab, Trey Berghorst, Thad Hall), 72: 3. Open No. 4 (Ben Loxterkamp, ​​Kaden Grams, Theron Erickson, Dylan Frye), 66

School teams: 1. Lawrence-Nelson (Nathan Stokes, Owen Smiley, Grayhm Beck), 25